Are you kidding me?


Last night was our first swimming class of the spring season. I wanted to have both kids in the pool at the same time so I only had to make the trip to town once. That means Big Guy is in the pool at 6:00 and Little Man is in at 6:15. Whoever the genius was that scheduled a class for 2-3 year olds at 6:15pm is an idiot!

I was hoping that, having had their supper beforehand, the nosy would fall asleep on the way home and I could just do a smooth transfer from van to bed! (Yeah right, ’cause that’s always been successful!)

As you may have guessed, that didn’t happen. They were tired though and were asleep by about 8:00. I then had my dinner (I fed them but forgot me earlier) and watched an old episode of JAG (Love that show!) and was in bed by 10:00. I think swim class wore me out as much as them. As anyone who knows me can attest to, I’m really not fond of physical exertion.

Little Man, who’s 2-1/2, still nurses. (I know! Whole other story.) He’ll sleep for a good portion of the night but when he starts to want nursing constantly and just flips from side to side I know he’s nearly ready to wake up and start the day. This morning he didn’t even do that. He simply announced, “Come on Mommy, couch!” Since the time change I have been unable to gauge the time by how light it is outside (I think July is the only month where the sun gets up before we do!) so I grabbed my phone and peered nearsightedly at the time 4:26!!! Are you kidding me?

I tried to explain to him that it was too early to get up, that the day didn’t start until he could see a 6 on the clock but since he doesn’t really know his numbers to see them yet that argument didn’t really fly.  He ended up laying on the floor beside the bed doing that annoying whiney cry that toddlers do when they’re wanting to act like babies (any mom will know what I mean!) while I tried to get a little more shut-eye.

Of course, I waited too long to cave and get him out of the room.  Once I finally told him to lay off the crying, that we could go to the couch, he jumped up and waited at the door for me to find my glasses and a warmer shirt.  (Never did find the shirt, I’m wearing my husband’s bathrobe while I type this.  Why is his bathrobe so much better than mine?) Big Boy, who had barely stirred throughout all of this early morning drama, then announces out of the blue, “Morning Mom, I had good sleep, let’s go to the couch!”

Dear Lord, I was dreading having one kid up this early now I’m faced with two! Oh well, I have two iPads so hopefully can keep them quiet while I get enough coffee into me to…finish that thought.

Sorry, drifted off for a minute there. Woke up to the five words that go through the mother of a toddler like a lightning bolt, “Mommy, I need to poo!”

So, now the day begins in earnest.  I’m on duty now (like I was ever off!) and will maybe get a break tonight after the kids go to bed.  It’s Friday night, the first of the week that Daddy will be home though, so the boys will likely be up late to play with him.  I’ll try and get in a nap this afternoon, the kids will leave me alone.

Yeah, right.  Are you kidding me?

Please feel free to leave a Reply

