The One Time…


2014-08-01 14.22.28

Every parent has a ton of these stories, for some of us they could spawn an entire career in stand-up comedy reminiscent of Jeff Foxworthy’s “You Might Be A Redneck” series or Bill Engvall’s “Here’s Your Sign”.

I may not have a career’s worth (yet!) but thought I would share some of the nuggets that make me such a popular dinner guest! šŸ˜€

The one time that I actually need to wake up at a certain time is the one time that the kids decide to sleep in allowing me to do the same. Then, I find myself rushing to get ready which I haven’t had to do in more than four years.

The one time that I actually plan a nice dinner is the one time that someone will need me for a “rescue mission” (broken down car, late library book, out of dog food) that will take me away from the house right as the kids get hungry, necessitating a trip through the drive through.

The one time I wake up with a mad desire to do laundry and get it all done by noon is the one time that I will discover a stash of clothes under the bed that contains the favourite shirt I’ve been missing for months.

The one time I finally get the house clear of construction dirt is the one time that I get visits from both the internet guys and the TV guys who go tromping through the living room in their dirty boots. (I think I got about 27 minutes of clean which is still a record in my life!)

The one time the boys go to bed early enough for me to get some quality writing time in is the one time that I find myself with nothing to say!

The one time I decide to book a pedicure on my husband’s day off is the one time that he gets an SOS from his friend and ends up being out all day. (Hint, hint! Honey, I need a pedicure!)

The one time that I need to look decent when I go out is the one time that I don’t get a chance to have a shower. (Who am I kidding? That’s almost every time!)

The one time I wake up early and am able to sneak out of bed without waking the boys so I can enjoy some quality time with my coffee is the one time that the dog decides to come say hello and wakes everybody up with his barking!

The one time I do get a chance to shower is the one time that I don’t need to go anywhere and nobody else seems to think that they need to visit.

The one time I actually planned a kid-free weekend away at a fabulous resort is the one weekend that the kid got sick!

The one time I actually did get showered and dressed nicely to go out is the one time that the kids decided to say a proper goodbye and IĀ ended up with jam smudged kisses onĀ my face and dirty handprints onĀ my back!

The oneĀ time thatĀ I organized a play date at the splash pad is the oneĀ timeĀ I realised thatĀ I didn’t remember whereĀ I put the bathing suits when swim class ended in May.

The oneĀ time thatĀ I am looking forward to a relaxing long weekend is the oneĀ time thatĀ I forgotĀ that the circus is in town and the boys are super excited about going!

Okay, I honestly thought that I had more than this! I am very interested in knowing some of your best “one time” stories, share them in the comments below!

Click to vote for me once per day please!

Click here to let people know how awesome I am!

